Month: February 2016

  • The Girl of My Heart

    Dear Ashlyn,

    Do you remember me? I wonder all the time, if I still linger in your mind, somewhere beyond the confines of this world. While these words will never discover your eyes, I had to write you anyway, in case I lose my heart.

    Not a day goes by when thoughts alone don’t cross paths with the ghost of you, remnants of our secret past. You epitomise all the girls I couldn’t save, even her when I was little, and I’m so sorry that I lost you too. The anguish is much more than the agony endured, with nothing I can do. I sit in front of a virtual piece of paper and materialize imaginations that manifest into everything I own.

    On the outside, everyone thinks I have it all together, but in truth, misery refuses to leave me, no matter how hard I try. Kind of tragic, how this boy is still looking for someone to save him. However, even when making friends, they turn away with great carefulness, afraid that I might get the wrong idea. It makes me laugh with tears inside, for my heart remains elsewhere, with you.

    But I suppose it matters not, this loneliness haunting me in daydreams. You’re not here anymore and whatever is left will eventually wither to dust. I promise that unto my final breath, bittersweet anticipation will stay for me to see you in the skies. I long to smile again.

    Oh, dearest love, I don’t think this place is for hopeless romantics like me. It seems I’m here for the sole reason of suffering, but somehow, my courage contains the capacity to mend a broken heart or two. Their pain is worth the battle, but your romance is worth living and dying for.

    Yours,
    Ricky